Lakin McCarthy

Lakin McCarthy


@lakinmccarthy

Mark Thomas

Top UK Comedian , Writer, Activist

FOR BOOKING CONTACT

warren@lakinmccarthy.com

Mark Thomas

A biog in numbers:

Mark Thomas has been performing comedy for 29 years.

He has written 4 books.

Curated and authored 2 art exhibitions.

Won 4 awards for performing, 2 for human rights work and 1 he invented for himself.

He has taken the police to court 3 times and has won twice. The third is ongoing.

He made 7 series of the Mark Thomas Comedy Product for Channel 4.

He made 3 Dispatches for Channel 4.

He was commissioned to write 1 performance piece for the Royal Opera House.

He has made 5 series of the Manifesto for Radio 4.

He is a Guinness World Record holder for holding 20 protests in 24 hours.

He has given evidence to Parliamentary select committees on 2 occasions.

He has walked 724km around the length of the Israel Wall in the West Bank.

He has been arrested 4 times in the West Bank, 7 times in the UK and on trial once (acquitted).

He has been credited with changing the law on tax avoidance bringing in £1,000,000s for HMRC.

He has performed in 3 continents and in 8 countries.

He has performed 3 shows at the National Theatre.

He has cost 1 councillor and one government minister their jobs.

He has tried to get the government in court over the Iraq war once.

He cost BNF over £1m in clean up operations after exposing irradiated pigeon shit.

His last tour was 100 Acts of Minor Dissent, in which he campaigned successfully for trade union recognition for cinema workers, got a multinational to change their practices, brought 4 court cases and annoyed lots of people.

Cuckooed is the 6th show performed at the Tricycle.

It is quite theatrical but then Mark is quite inter disciplinary working in theatre, stand up, performance art, journalism and the communal art. He is 52 years old and doesn't care if it sounds pretentious.

He has shares in 1 dog, owned by family.

He was born in South London in 1963.

He is fucking knackered.


@markthomasinfo
http://www.markthomasinfo.co.uk

Upcoming Shows

Feb 2017

Tour Venue Website
Sat 25/02/2017 The Red Shed Hull 2017, Hull Visit
Tue 28/02/2017 The Red Shed The Core Theatre, Corby Visit

Mar 2017

Tour Venue Website
Wed 01/03/2017 The Red Shed Gala Theatre, Durham Visit
Thu 02/03/2017 The Red Shed Norwich Playhouse, Norwich Visit
Fri 03/03/2017 The Red Shed Norwich Playhouse, Norwich Visit
Sat 04/03/2017 The Red Shed The Point, Eastleigh Visit
Mon 06/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Tue 07/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Wed 08/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Thu 09/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Fri 10/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Sat 11/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Sat 11/03/2017 The Red Shed Battersea Arts Centre, London Visit
Thu 16/03/2017 The Red Shed Northern Stage Theatre, Newcastle upon Tyne Visit
Fri 17/03/2017 The Red Shed The Ropewalk, Barton on Humber Visit
Fri 17/03/2017 The Red Shed The Ropewalk, Barton on Humber Visit
Sat 18/03/2017 The Red Shed Little Theatre, Chorley Visit
Tue 21/03/2017 The Red Shed The Ropetackle Centre, Shoreham-by-Sea Visit
Wed 22/03/2017 The Red Shed Theatre Royal, Margate Visit
Thu 23/03/2017 The Red Shed Trinity Theatre, Tunbridge Wells Visit
Fri 24/03/2017 The Red Shed Subscription Rooms, Stroud Visit

Apr 2017

Tour Venue Website
Sat 01/04/2017 The Red Shed CAST, Doncaster Visit
Sat 01/04/2017 The Red Shed CAST, Doncaster Visit
Fri 07/04/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress Hen and Chickens, London Visit
Sat 08/04/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress Hen and Chickens, London Visit

May 2017

Tour Venue Website
Mon 08/05/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress Chipping Norton Theatre, Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire, Visit
Thu 11/05/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress Seagull Theatre, Lowestoft
Fri 12/05/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress John Peel Centre for the Creative Arts, Stowmarket Visit
Sat 13/05/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress Ashcroft Arts Centre, Fareham Visit
Thu 18/05/2017 Predictable - Work in Progress South Street, Reading Visit

LATEST NEWS