Lakin McCarthy

Lakin McCarthy


@lakinmccarthy

Mark Thompson

Astronomer, TV Presenter, Writer

FOR BOOKING CONTACT

debra@lakinmccarthy.com

Mark Thompson

Mark is well known for his passion for the night sky. He has inspired millions of viewers to get out and enjoy the night sky through his role as a presenter on the RTS nominated show BBC Stargazing Live. 

As an astronomy populariser, he has been keen to introduce a new, contemporary and fresh image of science to the public and to that end has for the last 20 years, lectured on a vast array of astronomical subjects from the Moon to Black Holes and the end of the Universe.

His drive to enthuse and educate a new audience has found him working on The One Show, the Alan Titchmarsh show, This Morning, Channel 4 documentaries and more recently on ITV’s prime time breakfast show Good Morning Britain.

Most recently he has turned his attention to the wider world of science and in 2016 debuted his sell-out ‘Spectacular Science’ family show at the Edinburgh Fringe. The show has gone from strength to strength and plays to sell-out audiences around the country. 

Following on from the success of his first “A Down to Earth Guide to the Cosmos”, Mark has now published four books which revolutionised public understanding of the universe and he is now working on a series of astronomy books for children.

Mark has been a contributor on the Sky at Night and The Culture Show and now enjoys bringing the beauty of the night sky down to Earth through many different outlets. Embracing social media, Mark tweets regularly with tens of thousands of followers and he is now working with a number of agencies on some exciting new projects for the coming years.

You can find more about Mark on his websites:

www.spectacularscienceshow.com

markthompsonastronomy.com

and YouTube Channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCk6mKb7KwN5j-tR2BFFZx-w/featured


@PeoplesAstro
http://www.spectacularscienceshow.com

Upcoming Shows

Aug 2018

Tour Venue Website
Wed 15/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Thu 16/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Fri 17/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Sat 18/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Sun 19/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Mon 20/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Tue 21/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Wed 22/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Thu 23/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Fri 24/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Sat 25/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit
Sun 26/08/2018 Spectacular Science Show - Edinburgh 2018 Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh Visit

Oct 2018

Tour Venue Website
Sat 13/10/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Brockenhurst VillageHall, Brockenhurst Visit
Tue 16/10/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Eden Court Theatre, Inverness Visit
Thu 18/10/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science The Brunton Theatre, Musselburgh Visit
Mon 29/10/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Rhodes Arts Complex, Bishop's Stortford Visit

Nov 2018

Tour Venue Website
Thu 01/11/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Artrix, Bromsgrove Visit
Fri 02/11/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science The Atkinson (main house), Southport Visit
Sat 03/11/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science The Atkinson (main house), Southport Visit
Sun 18/11/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science The Radlett Centre, Radlett Visit

Dec 2018

Tour Venue Website
Sat 15/12/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Piece Hall , Halifax Visit
Sat 15/12/2018 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Piece Hall , Halifax Visit

Feb 2019

Tour Venue Website
Sun 17/02/2019 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Customs House, South Shields Visit
Mon 18/02/2019 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science MAC Birmingham, Birmingham Visit
Tue 19/02/2019 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Number 8 Community Arts Centre, Pershore Visit
Fri 22/02/2019 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science The Platform, Morecambe
Fri 22/02/2019 Mark Thompson The Show At The End Of The Universe The Platform, Morecambe

Mar 2019

Tour Venue Website
Fri 15/03/2019 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Rosehill Theatre, Whitehaven Visit

Jun 2019

Tour Venue Website
Sat 08/06/2019 Mark Thompson Spectacular Science Junction , Goole Visit

LATEST NEWS